The Blossom After I Withered (Spoken Word Poem) By Liana

Description: Recently Team Tui has been focussing on writing spoken word poems. A spoken word poem is when you write a poem that is like a speech based on global issues (most of the time). I chose to write on mental health specifically on someone griveing after a loss of a loved one. I wanted to make it a bit harder and made it a metaphoric poem (based on a tree after it’s withered) which explains why the title is “The Blossom After I Withered”. My poem isn’t much of a spoken word poem due to the poem being rather sad and subtle. Either way, here is my spoken word poem.

 

The Blossom after I Withered 

 

I’ve withered

My leaves slowly falling off one by one 

And yet I’m still here, year after year

As the seasons go by

Time tends to fly

But why can’t the memory of summer disappear?

Why does it always appear?

Reality has lost its power even earth is holding its breath

Why did it have to be such a sudden death?

The pain my roots have carried

Feeling rather harried 

The burden my trunk has carried 

Everything has my roots serried

When everything seems over 

There grows a clover 

 Who would have thought something so tiny would have grown over my life?

The clover waved with a warm smile 

I haven’t felt such warmth in a while

As each day went by, the clover smiled over at me 

I felt as green as a lea

Before I knew, I blossomed, I blossomed into a cherry tree

Just as I used to be 

Who would have thought one tiny clover would be the reason I blossomed

After I withered 

 

By Liana ♡

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *