My Reading Task 2

Task Description: This task is basically just like my previous task but instead it’s a different part with different stories. This task I did a little bit before the previous one. I did this task in a reading group and I enjoyed doing it. Thanks for reading 🙂

 

KEY into inference 

TEXTS fiction 

LEVEL 3 SET T1

Inference is not said directly 

Look for the KEY words 

Answers must come from information in the story Consider writer’s intent 

PRACTISE ITEM 1 

GRANNY 

Granny lived in a dark house that was at least as old as she was. She had worn black for all of the thirty years since my grandfather had died. Her wooden stick clumping slowly down the stairs told us that Granny was on her way. Then she was there: a dark, bent figure, her narrow, glinting eyes peering at us. A pointy black hat and a broomstick would have completed the picture. 

 

Although she looked fierce, Granny was kind. She always gave me a penny – a large, heavy coin. But, before the penny, came the question: “How many pennies have you got now?” I counted out my penny collection from my right hand pocket. I thought that if I didn’t count out the correct number of coins I wouldn’t get any more, so I never spent any of them. The number of pennies grew and so did the weight in my pocket. One day I found that some of my money had slipped through a hole. I dreaded the thought of Granny’s usual question. 

 

Next time I saw Granny, when she asked me how many pennies I had, I gulped and stuttered. “How many did you have?” she inquired. “How many have you got left?” 

I answered the questions correctly as quickly as they were asked. 

Granny smiled. “Well, you know how to do your sums”, she said as she handed me a handful of pennies. 

  • What did the writer think his Granny looked like
  • She always wore black clothes and she always walked around with a wooden cane
  • How did the writer get a hole in his pocket
  • From the weight of the coins I think
    1. Did the writer look forward to seeing Granny after losing the coins? How do you know that
  • No because the grandson literally said “I dreaded of the thought of grannies usual question” and when granny asked the question he gulped and stuttered 
  • Was Granny angry? How do you know thatNo, because she smiled.

KEY into inference 

TEXTS fiction 

LEVEL TWO SET T2 

Inference is not said directly 

Look for the KEY words 

Answers must come from information in the story Consider writer’s intent 

PRACTISE 

ITEM

THE COAT 

Jemma rushed from the classroom to the row of coats and, changing her pace only slightly, grabbed hers from the peg. Awkwardly, for she was carrying her homework books in her arms, she pulled it on

She was late, she realized. Her older brother, who was giving her a ride home, got irritated when she was late. Talking to her friends after the last bell had gone had taken more of her time than she had thought, and she had arranged to meet Joe immediately after school

She ran as fast as she could across the playground, clutching the books to her body, skipping over and around the puddles, and down the path to the road. She threw her bundle onto the seat of the car and, brushing back the wet strands of hair from her eyes, clambered quickly in after them

Joe looked at her in the rear vision mirror, and said bad temperedly, You’re late!” 

She smiled nervously back at him, and pulled off her coat. Sorry, Joe. But, look, before I forget, I met Andrea before school this morning and she asked me to give you this note.” 

Jemma fumbled in a pocket of her coat, and, not finding what she was looking for, turned it over and thrust her hand into the other pocket. Then with a small gasp of horror, she looked at the name tag on the collar of the coat. There, in bold black letters, she read DIANA KIRBY. 

  1. Had Jemma been late meeting her brother before? How do you know that?
  2. I’m guessing maybe because in the beginning of the story she said “Her older brother got irritated when she was late” 
  3. Did her brother normally give her a ride home from school? How do you know that?
  4. No because Jemma realized that her brother was giving her a ride.If he always gave her a ride she wouldn’t have to realize that her brother was picking her up.
  5. What was the weather like?
  6. I’d say a bit rainy 
  7. Did Jemma get into the front or back of the car? How do you know that?
  8. No because her brother looked at her from the rearview mirror which would mean she was sitting at the back.

Thats it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *